2021 Sandridge Rd. Alden, NY 14004

background image

Sacramental Life

Signs of the Sacred

The Latin word for sacrament, sacramentum means "a sign of the sacred." The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God's saving presence. That's what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are at the same time signs and instruments of God's grace.  Catholics believe that the sacraments are an outward sign of an inward grace.  The seven sacraments were instituted by Christ and given to the Church to administer.  They are necessary for salvation. 


Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. It is arguably the most important sacrament because Christ Himself is contained in it, offered and received.  We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we are also nourished spiritually and brought closer to God. It is by the Eucharist that the Church is constantly living and growing.  The Eucharistic Sacrifice, the memorial of the death and resurrection of the Lord, in which the sacrifice of the cross is perpetuated over the centuries, is the summit and source of all Christian life and worship; it signifies and effects the unity of the people of God and achieves the building up of the Body of Christ. 


Celebrating the Eucharist at St. John the Baptist

Saturday Vigil Mass: 4:00 p.m.

Sunday Masses: 8:00 a.m., 9:30 a.m., & 11:00 a.m.

Weekdays: (Monday - Friday): 8:30 a.m.

Holy Days:  Vigil Mass - as announced

                                 Holy Day - 8:30 a.m. & 12:10 p.m.

Eucharistic Adoration: First Friday of each month (9 a.m. to 7 p.m.)



Through Penance or Reconciliation, the faithful receive pardon through God's mercy for the sins that they have committed.  They are also reconciled with the Church community and the act of being freed from sin frees us to facilitate reconciliation with others.  There are three elements of the sacrament of reconciliation: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God's unconditional forgiveness for sins committed and are imbued with God's grace to help us to avoid sin in the future.


Confession times at St. John the Baptist:

Saturdays from 3:15 - 3:45 p.m. and by request



Baptism is the purifying and sanctifying sacrament of rebirth.  By the sacrament of Baptism, recipients are incorporated into the church in a sacramental bond of unity. 

          Amen, amen, I say to you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and Spirit. (John 3:5)


Scheduling a baptism at St. John the Baptist:

 Baptisms are usually scheduled the 1st and 3rd Sundays at 12:15 p.m. 

 New parents must be registered and attend a class prior to Baptism. 
 For more information, please contact the rectory 937-6959.



For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God's values.  The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership for the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring.

Arrangements should be made at least nine months ahead and only with a priest or pastoral administrator. 
A Marriage Preparation Program is also required.



Confirmation is a Catholic Sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. It is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation and is most often associated with the gifts of the Holy Spirit, as enumerated in Isaiah 11:2-3,  - wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety and fear of the Lord.  With these gifts, confirmation enriches the baptized with the Holy Spirit, binding them more perfectly to the Church, and strengthening them in their witness to Christ by word and deed and in their work to bring to its fullness the Body of Christ.

For more information regarding Confirmation please contact our Religious Education Department or RCIA Coordinator.

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament by which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties. The sacred rite by which orders are conferred is called ordination. The apostles were ordained by Jesus at the Last Supper so that others could share in his priesthood.  In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness.


Anointing of the Sick

 The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites or Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness.  Jesus showed great concern for the bodily and spiritual welfare of the sick and commanded his followers to do the same. The celebration of this sacrament is an opportunity for the deepening of the faith of the community who are able to witness the faith and devotion of those being anointed.