Closings, News, Service Opportunities

CLOSINGS AND CANCELLATIONS:

Monday, Jan 2 - There is NO CLASS FOR LIFETEEN (9th & 10th grade) This is a revision to the policy booklet

Sunday, Feb 5 - There is Edge classes from 9:15am-10:45am in St. John's School
Sunday, April 2 - There is Edge classes from 9:15am-10:45am in St. John's School

Monday, April 17 - Classes cancelled for Lifeteen (9th-10th grade) due to Easter Holiday.
Monday, April 24 - Classes cancelled for Lifeteen (9th-10th grade) due to celebration of Sacrament of Confirmation

Sunday, April 30 - Edge class will be a Retreat from 9:15am - 3:15pm.  11am Mass included,  Light lunch served.Sunday, May 7 and 21 - Classes cancelled for Edge (6th,7th,8th graders) due to creating an Edge Retreat Day on Sunday, April 30, from 9:15am - 3:15pm

Any questions, contact Faith Formation Office at stjohnsspirit2@gmail.com or 716-937-3448.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

NEWS AND SERVICE OPPORTUNITIES

BOLDED  information are opportunities for service.  Please contact Organizer at least one week before scheduleded event.

January 2017

Sun. Jan. 1 – 9:30 am Children’s Mass

Sun. Jan. 8 - 11:00am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                      Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Sat. Jan. 14 – 4pm Polka Mass/ Dance. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                     Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Fri Jan 20 - 6:30pm -8:30pm Youth Night.  We welcome all 6th-12 grade students to Youth Night for games, faith, and FUN!
                         Please use Westwood Entrance.Sun. Jan. 22 - 11:00 am Youth Mass/10th Grade Mass of Enrollment

Tues. Jan. 24 – Reconciliation Inscription Service for 2nd graders @ 6:30 p.m. in the Church

Thur. Jan 26-Fri. Jan 28 – March for Life, Washington DC
                                    Contact Pam Turton or Faith Formation Office by Dec 1
                                     for more information. Pray for the unborn and others affected.

Sat. Jan. 28 – Grades 4-5 Mid-Term testing

February 2017

Fri Feb 3 - 6:30pm -8:30pm Youth Night.  We welcome all 6th-12 grade students to Youth Night for games, faith, and FUN!
                         Please use Westwood Entrance.

Sun. Feb. 5 – 9:30 am Children’s Mass

Sun. Feb. 5 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                       Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Tues. Feb. 7 – Eucharist Enrollment Service @ 6:30 p.m. in the Church

Sun. Feb. 12 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                      Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Mon.-Thurs. Feb. 27-28, Mar. 1-2 First Reconciliation Interviews.
                     Interview date/time to be determined at a later date.

March 2017 

Fri. Mar. 3 – Sun. Mar. 5 – Buffalo Youth Convention for High Schoolers (9th-12th graders)
                     See Faith Formation Office by Jan 1st  for more details, if interested.

Sat. March 4 and 11 – Catholic Charities Coin Game during Grades PK-5 classes

Fri March 10 - 6:30pm -8:30pm Youth Night.  We welcome all 6th-12 grade students to Youth Night for games, faith, and FUN!
                         Please use Westwood Entrance.Sun Mar. 5 – 9:30 am Children’s Mass

Sun. Mar. 5 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                        Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Sat. Mar. 11 – 2nd  Grade Retreat for Reconciliation 9:00 a.m.- 11a.m. in school

Sun. Mar. 19 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server.  
                        Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Sat. Mar. 25 – First Communion interviews during class

Sun. Mar. 26 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                        Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Tues. Mar.28 – First Reconciliation @ 6:30 p.m. in Church

April 2017

Sat. Apr.1 – 3rd  Grade Retreat for Eucharist  @ 9:00 a.m.- noon

Sun. Apr. 2 - 9:30 am Children’s Mass.
                      11 am Youth Mass.  Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 

                       Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Fri. Apr. 14 – Living Stations presented by 6th grade @ 7pm in Church

Sat. Apr. 22 – Preschool and Kindergarten Graduation during class

Sat. Apr. 22 – Everyone is welcome to St. Rose of Lima Church, Buffalo, Respect Life Mass 8am then Pro-life walk

Sun. Apr. 23 - 11:00 am Youth Mass. Volunteer as greeter, reader, music ministry, usher, gift bearer, altar server. 
                        Contact Mrs. Jean Czerniak at mrs.cyouth@gmail.com or 716-481-8892.

Sun. Apr. 23 - Divine Mercy Sunday, confessions 1pm, prayer service 2pm - 3pm

Fri Apr 28 - 6:30pm -8:30pm Youth Night.  We welcome all 6th-12 grade students to Youth Night for games, faith, and FUN!
                         Please use Westwood Entrance.Sun. Apr. 30 - 11:00 am Youth Mass.

May 2017 

Mon. May 1 – May Crowning @ 7:00 p.m. In Church

           Everyone is welcome to attend

Sat. May 6 – Third Grade Reconciliation during class

                        and Grades 4-5 Final Term testing

Sun. May 7 – 9:30 am Children’s Mass

Fri May 12 - 6:30pm -8:30pm Youth Night.  We welcome all 6th-12 grade students to Youth Night for games, faith, and FUN!
                         Please use Westwood Entrance.Mon./Tues. May 15/16 – Communion Rehearsal @ 7 p.m. in the Church

Sat. May 20 – First Holy Communion @ 10:00 a.m. &12:00 p.m. in Church

June 2017

Sun. June 4 – 9:30 am Children’s Mass

Sun. June 4 – Noon-2:30 p.m. Prayer in the Park

Fri June 16 - Sat June 17 - Youth Lockin at St. John's.  See Youth Ministry site for more information.

July 2017

July 4 - Religious Education Office closed due to Independence Day.

July 15-17 - St. John's Lawn Fete.  Volunteers are needed to assist Kid's activities.  Contact St. John's School Office at 716-937-9483..

July 24-28  Vacation Bible School 8am - noon.  Volunteers are needed to assist activities.  Celebration Team (singers, dancers, musicians, actors, actresses), Imagination Station (using hands on activities to teach a lesson), Bible Story (act out the bible story of the day), Games (games incorporating theme of the day), Snack (make and provide nourishment to children), PreK (sharing our faith with the littlest ones), Kid-Vid (learning more about God's Word through video and how to reach out in our world)  Contact Lynn Fox at 937-3448 or fox_stjohns@yahoo.com by June 15 to volunteer.